MOBILE SOCIAL WORK

ideas, innovations and apps for social work in the age of smartphones and social media 

Woman with Parkinson’s Reports Significant Physical Recovery After Using Second Life – Academics Researching

This is Fran, an 85 year old woman who plays Second Life as an avatar named Fran Seranade, and while that’s interesting in itself, many other senior citizens like her are known to be active in SL. Here is the truly extraordinary thing: For over 7 years, Fran has been afflicted with Parkinson’s Disease, a degenerative disorder of the central nervous system afflicting millions around the world, including actor Michael J. Fox and sports legend Muhammed Ali. In Fran’s case, Parkinson’s has made it difficult for her to stand from a sitting position, and maintain her balance while upright. But now Fran reports she’s gained significant recovery of physical movement — as a direct consequence of her activity in Second Life.

How did this happen? According to her, she originally used Second Life just as a fun way to socialize, but “[a]fter awhile I began to identify with my avatar and feel like I was actually doing what she was doing.” On one occasion, she played with some tai chi meditation animations for her avatar (that’s her below), and this was a turning point:

“As I watched her,” as she tells me through e-mail, “I could actually feel the movements within my body as if I were actually doing tai chi in my physical life (which is not possible for me).” She made this avatar-based tai chi a daily routine while meditating, and then sensed it was having an impact on herself:

“For a year I have sat and slept in a motorized lounge chair that brings me to a standing position when I push a button.” After weeks of watching her avatar practice tai chi, however, “I could feel that my body had become stronger.” Until a day came where she was able to stand without motorized assistance. “Now,” she says, “I can go from a sitting to standing position without even using my arms to push against the arm rests. This has been absolutely thrilling for me.”

This isn’t the only apparent physical effect spurred by her Second Life usage …

Read the full the article via New World Notes: Woman with Parkinson’s Reports Significant Physical Recovery After Using Second Life – Academics Researching.

One comment on “Woman with Parkinson’s Reports Significant Physical Recovery After Using Second Life – Academics Researching

  1. Pingback: Virtual Reality Compares Favourably With Face-To-Face For Weight Loss | MOBILE SOCIAL WORK

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Games, Health and tagged , , , , .
Lutz Siemer

Lutz Siemer

Education, Research & Development in Social Work & IT After working as an alternative practitioner and psychotherapist in private practice for nearly ten years I stepped over to higher education in 2005. At Saxion University of Applied Sciences I lecture and do research and development in the area of Social Work, Psychology and IT. Currently I'm focussing on merging mobile technology and social work.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

Mobile Social Work on Twitter

Facebook

Mobile Social Work on Facebook

Google+

Mobile Social Work on Google+

Tumblr

Social Mobile Work on Tumblr

RSS

Subscribe to Posts

The Fair(er) Phone:

FairPhone | A seriously cool smartphone. Putting social values first
