MOBILE SOCIAL WORK

ideas, innovations and apps for social work in the age of smartphones and social media 

Mobile Social Work says “Goodbye and see you soon” – New Projects

Dear friends of Mobile Social Work,

As you may have mentioned I didn’t post very much the last weeks. There are some reasons for this that I would like to share with you. Since summer I’ve been focusing on three projects that asked for most of my time so I had to let go of Mobile Social Work. These three projects are…

Family

The most important thing … family. Jule May was born in March and is still trying to find the best ways to keep us from sleeping, working, relaxing and spending time on things that we once thought are important. Changing diapers, looking for the right milk, securing sockets and finding that life is a miracle is now one of my main tasks.

M2

Great project! I recommend it to everyone. 🙂

Doctorate

Some days ago I got message that my application for a doctorate is accepted. That means the next 4 to 5 years I will spend on research. This fits great into my academic career but will ask for a lot of time. The topic of the doctorate is on the intersection of social work and technology: Evaluation of usability, adherence, effectiveness and costs of a blended face-to-face and web-based smoking cessation treatment versus treatment as usual.

BSCT

Looking forward to do this.

YOWOMO2.0

Last year I started a project within the European Lifelong Learning Programme that develops a a competence framework for youth work in the age of smartphones and social media. It’s called YOWOMO2.0 – Youth Work Mobile 2.0. This is now running and also asking for attention. I think that this project can be seen as a little sister of Mobile Social Work focussing on a special part of the topic. In the long term the project can lead to offering training and assessments to social workers. A great challenge.

YOWOMO2.0

What does this mean?

As you can see these topics may ask for a lot of attentions besides being a husband, a father, a son, a brother, a friend, a lecturer, a runner, a musician, …

So where does this lead to: After nearly two years, more than 600 posts and more than 26,000 views I stop with Mobile Social Work. It was a great time aggregating ideas and news on social work in the age of smartphones and social media. I learned a lot and made contact with wonderful people like you. Thank you for your attention and support!

I hope to meet you in another context.

Take care,

Lutz

6 comments on “Mobile Social Work says “Goodbye and see you soon” – New Projects

  1. Spanish Saltwater Dreamer
    December 6, 2013

    Lutz, wishing you health and prosperity. You are a true inspiration and blessing to all of us.

    The research on smoking cessation will be invaluable to making an impact in people’s lives. This goes as well for the learning development of our youth through mediums and learning models they can relate to. As for the family project, this is the most important.
    We’ll keep in touch. Much appreciation from The Land DownUnder – Australia 🌟

  2. njsmyth
    December 9, 2013

    Wishing you the best with all of these projects, Lutz. I will miss Mobile Social Work, but I look forward to the amazing work that will come out of your research.

  3. Relando Thompkins, MSW, LLMSW
    February 12, 2014

    I’m getting to this post a little late, but I did enjoy your posts. Please do let us know if you start any other blogging initiatives. I’m wishing you the very best on your journey!

  4. Torin
    March 25, 2014

    Good luck with your pursuits. Let us know at http://supportnetworkonline.com if we can be of any service to your various endeavours.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
Lutz Siemer

Lutz Siemer

Education, Research & Development in Social Work & IT After working as an alternative practitioner and psychotherapist in private practice for nearly ten years I stepped over to higher education in 2005. At Saxion University of Applied Sciences I lecture and do research and development in the area of Social Work, Psychology and IT. Currently I'm focussing on merging mobile technology and social work.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

Mobile Social Work on Twitter

Facebook

Mobile Social Work on Facebook

Google+

Mobile Social Work on Google+

Tumblr

Social Mobile Work on Tumblr

RSS

Subscribe to Posts

The Fair(er) Phone:

FairPhone | A seriously cool smartphone. Putting social values first